Ian Currans Pic.jpg

Most Distinguished Companion Ian S Currans VI

Grand Summus 
images 2.jpg

The current Ancient and Masonic Order of the Scarlet Cord is based on an earlier Order, The Royal Order of Knights of the Scarlet Cord, developed in the British Isles in 1889, which was itself derived from 18th Century documents from the Amsterdam Masonic archives.

The rituals and ceremonies were rewritten and enriched by His Honour Judge Fredrick Adolphus Philbrick, KC, and were performed as appendant grades to the Order of the Secret Monitor. The rituals of the Order are taken from Old Testament times, commencing at the period of Joshua, the fall of Jericho and the story of Rahab. The main purpose was to raise considerable sums of money for the Secret Monitor Benevolent Fund, which still plays a significant role in Masonic welfare provision today. The Order ceased working in 1929.

A paper on the original Order written and delivered in 2001 by Peter Glyn Williams, the then Grand Supreme Ruler of the Secret Monitor, stimulated interest in the long-forgotten rituals. In 2006 a Secret Monitor Conclave was Consecrated with the sole purpose of reviving the old Order and conferring updated versions of the original six grades, some of which only remained in fragmented form. A huge appetite for the grades among Secret Monitors led to the Order being inaugurated as a separate Sovereign body in a magnificent ceremony in the Grand Temple at Freemasons’ Hall on 21 July 2010.

Alan Shields .jpg

Right Distinguished Companion Allan M Shield

Right Distinguished Companion Allan M Shields V

Provincial Grand Summus

developed rapidly, and 62 Secret Monitor Conclaves, dedicated to the Scarlet Cord, were consecrated.  By 2010, the Order had grown sufficiently to become a Sovereign Body, and on 21st July the new Order was inaugurated at Freemasons’ Hall, London.  The Conclaves were re-dedicated as Consistories, each receiving a new number and suffix “T.i.”, referring to “Time Immemorial”, and formed into 16 Provinces of 3 or more Consistories and 12 smaller inspectorates.

images 1.jpg

The Order has continued to grow and now has 29 Provinces and with 139 Consistories.

In Our Province of East Lancashire we currently have three Consistories, The Vale of Irwell, Beal Valley and Pomona and therefore we are looking at expanding and making a fourth Consistory, Ribble Valley "The Internet Consistory"